Life With Maise: Oh What Fun (Week 8)

Whew! Life is getting busier by the day!!

Kenny and Amanda stopped by at the beginning of the week to meet their niece. Maise, who is not much of a spitter-upper, immediately barfed all over Kenny, multiple times. Must be a solidarity thing ;-). We went out for dinner and a beer, and Maise snoozed. It was a quick visit – by the time we got up in the morning, Kenny and Amanda were long gone on their way to the airport! Regardless, it was really nice to have them here and for them to get to meet our sweet girl!

Maise also made her first trip to my work that week – I keep hoping that her chill attitude and adorable smiles will win everyone over so no one cares if I wear her to work, but that doesn’t seem to be working. I even discussed the possibility of everyone in my row taking her for an hour or so, and everyone seemed excited about it… somehow I don’t think it’s gonna happen, though. 😦

At the end of the week, we had some very special visitors! Whitney and Chelsea came down for a girls weekend. Poor Sam, stuck with us in the house… it was so fun to have them here. Nikko and Mark were also in town, and came over on Saturday morning. We all went out to breakfast together and it was so fun to see everyone and let them love on Maise. While it’s hard to share her sometimes, it always fills my heart to see just how many and how much people love her.

  • Maise had her first significant chunk of time away from me Saturday afternoon; she went with Sam to Aunt Lynn and Uncle Dean’s, with Maggie and Wayne, to watch the Timbers game. We talked about it several times earlier in the week and I went from “absolutely not, she must stay home with me” to “well maybe Maise should go with you,” to “it’s probably a good idea for you to take her.” After we decided she’d go with Sam, I avoided thinking about it anymore right up until he came to take her from me and put her in her carseat. Then I wept for 10 minutes straight. As soon as the car pulled out of the driveway though, I was OK – and super glad I had such fun distractions in my house! We decided to treat ourselves to getting our nails done, and some Mexican food (and a marg!). While Whit, Chels and I were getting our nails done, we figured that the last time just the three of us had time to hang out together like this was ten years ago. It’s amazing how time flies right past us!!

By the end of week 8, things feel like they’re in a pretty good rhythm and it really just feels like Maise has been here forever, though honestly it felt like that from the very beginning. 🙂

**

Dear Maise,

Right now, you’re starting to stir from your nap. You’ve been on a rigid schedule where you only nap for 45 minutes at a time for at least 2-3 weeks, so I finally decided we’d call that a ‘normal’ nap for you… well girlfriend, you’ve been asleep for an hour and a half. I’m glad you’re having such a good snooze but you do make it tricky to predict what you’re gonna do! I accepted long ago that that the only consistent thing I can expect from having a newborn is that nothing is consistent and everything changes, and you follow that one to a ‘T!’. I’m pretty sure you’re awake in there, actually – just quietly playing by yourself. You’ve recently started putting yourself to sleep, so maybe you’ll start waking up quiet, too! 🙂

During your 8th week you got to meet some more very special people who are close to my heart. You won them all over instantly, and I thought it was very funny that you were so prone to barfing all over your Uncle Kenny. Since then you’ve started spitting up a little more, but at that time you basically NEVER did it, and you made several donations to his shirt within only a few minutes. You’re definitely my girl ;-).

I wasn’t nervous to send you off to play with your dad that day, except that I was – more nervous for myself than for anything else. I had good distractions, but I still missed you pretty fiercely! From what I’ve heard you had a lot of fun with daddy that day and I know it was good bonding time for you both. I cried and cried when you left, and snuggled you hard when you got home!

I go back to work in 6 short days. We’re not thinking about it though. We’re making the most of our last week home together! You’re very smiley right now, especially if we’re singing. The weather can’t make up it’s mind today, but as usual it’s perfectly sunny with you in our house. I love you. I love you. I love you.

xoxo

momma

Leave a Reply

