We’re Engaged!

Old news by now. But, the blog didn’t exist then.

Correction. The Blog definitely existed. It just wasn’t being… utilized. I have to say, I had a lot of OTHER IMPORTANT STUFF going on.

Anyhow. Here’s the scoop.

We’d been talking about it for a while. Our 4 (5? Oh crap. No. 4 for sure.) year anniversary was at the beginning of November, and he brought me home a beautiful bouquet of red roses, and a catalog filled with engagement rings to peruse through. We looked through it together for a while, dog-earing pages I that had rings I liked, going back and comparing back and forth. I had a stand out favorite, but would have taken the one from the crackerjack box if it meant being with him.

(I would learn much later that Sam bought the ring the next day)

Life got busy. I knew Sam was shopping for a ring, but I didn’t know much else. I was just going about life, as normal, as though I didn’t know he was shopping for a ring. I thought it might have been a mean trick.

The week of Thanksgiving, he said, “we should go to dinner on Wednesday.” I said, “sounds good.”

Then he made a dinner reservation at a fancy restaurant (this is very out of character. We are homebodies, and a date usually includes happy hour and a movie, or if we’re feeling fancy I wear high heels and we do the same thing :))

Then I started seriously freaking out. I had no idea if he had bought a ring but I figured he probably hadn’t, and he was acting super strange. It was pretty clear what was coming… but I was in NO WAY about to get my hopes up just to have them dashed away on just a really lovely date. So I kept telling myself it was “just dinner.” I kept telling my friends it’s “just dinner.” It was my mantra. For a whole two days. Katy made me this picture in paint and sent it in an email that said “this is me, not being excited. muahahaha.”:

I thought I might lose my mind. It was all consuming. When was the last time I was NERVOUS with Sam? Psh. A LONG, long time ago.

We went to dinner at McCormick & Schmicks at Harborside in downtown Portland. It’s beautiful, and it was all decorated for Christmas. We had a bottle of Pinot Gregio from Willamette Vineyards (I kept the cork). We had calamari and steak and creme brulee for dessert. After dinner, Sam had to “run to the car to get his jacket” (why didn’t he bring it inside? It’s just dinner…) so we could go for a walk.

Harborside has an adorable little walkway that leads along the water to the viewpoint of the Hawthorne Bridge. It had been raining BUCKETS all week, so the cobblestone path was a little… muddy. And poorly designed for girls who are all dressed up in their heels.

We got up to the bridge, and talked for a couple of minutes, he got down on one knee, pulled a ring out of his pocket, and told me he wanted to spend the rest of his life with me. πŸ™‚ I snatched that ring out of his hand, put it on my finger, gave him a big sloppy kiss and a “yes yes yes!” and have been dazzled by it (and him!) every day since.

(this picture was taken several months later, but at the same spot) πŸ™‚

Next, of course, came calling half of the contacts in our phones. We stopped to pick up a bottle of champagne and called some friends who happened to be all together at a bar about 10 minutes from us. We turned the car around and headed their way. Celebrating with a bottle of bubbly and people who love us was the perfect addition to a perfect night! (I kept that cork too).

We’re getting married August 25 (three months from today). I love him with my whole heart, and I cannot wait to spend the rest of my life with him.

(feel free to barf anytime)

πŸ™‚

*the pictures in this post, and probably a lot of posts to come, are by the beautiful and talented Katheryn Moran Photography. She’s an amazing photographer, and a better friend.

One thought on “We’re Engaged!

  1. No barfing here! Just happy tears…even though I know the story I love hearing it. Again. And again. I love you guys. And the beautiful photos by the lovely Katy.

Leave a Reply

