Another Little Love List: Book Edition

It’s time. Time for another love list, that is. Today’s edition: Books I love.

If you know me, you know I’m a big reading nut. I love reading. Sometimes, I love reading trashy romance novels I can predict through and through, like Nora Roberts. Sometimes I like reading tear-jerkers ala Nicholas Sparks. I also often like teen fiction. But, I do read things of substance occasionally too. Just had to get it out there. You should also know that yes, I read Twilight. No, it will not make the list. Don’t send me hate mail.

And, let me just say this right now. The list will be in Top 5 format. BUT. It is NOT cheating if I decide an entire series goes under just one number. So what if book four was actually my fav? All seven make the list. And with that, we begin. Where all top five book lists should.

1. Harry Potter.  First, you have to know. This picture is making me crazy because the books are in a wonky, weird, non-order. WHY is Deathly Hallows next to Chamber of Secrets? Why is Sorcerer’s Stone in the middle? This is not how it works, people. Those of us who very likely have a mild case of OCD need those books in series order. NEED IT PEOPLE!!! Anyhow, I digress. I love these books because they are great. Book five (Order of the Phoenix) is my least favorite. Books 3, 4, and 7 are my favorites. 7 is the stand out favorite, but for some reason I always forget to include it because it shouldn’t count because it is SO OBVIOUSLY the best one. Also. I know that admitting to loving Harry Potter so vehemently (I don’t think I’ve ever used that word in a sentence before. go me.) might make me a nerdbomber. Don’t care. Love them anyway. I’ll shout it from the mountaintops if you ask me to.

2. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. I read this book long, long before they made it a movie. It was an instant favorite. It is just so good! It is a great portrayal of circus life (something I know lots about, obviously) and so raw and good you just can’t put it down. The movie was good, but the book was about a zillion times better. I read her second book, Ape House, and didn’t like it at all. Just throwing that out there.

3. The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins. I read all three books in about 3 days, I think. No favorite, they all rock. The plot is so dark and twisted, but somehow Katniss keeps such a beautiful outlook and remains a hero. It tackles big huge issues and just keeps on making you want to read more. I can’t wait for the movie!

4. The Help by Katherine Stockett. I actually just finished reading this one. It is just a beautiful look into the life of the maids in white houses of the south in the 1960’s. The movie comes out soon so get on this bandwagon and read the book if you haven’t! It is moving and sad at times and makes you laugh out loud at times and it’s great. Pick it up when you’ve got a few hours. You won’t want to put it down.

5. The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein. Because I love pups. And Seattle. And this book is guaranteed to make you cry, told from the point of view of an old and faithful pup who loves nothing more than his man. It’s a good one.

Also. I just want to brag a little bit. About our weekend weather. Because it usually rains rains rains. And if it gets sunny, we usually top out at about 72. BUT. Here is a little taste of how my weekend will look. From my lounger by the pool. With trashy novels in hand.

Ooh ooh! And… there is exciting news coming next week. 🙂 Well, you probably won’t care. But I think it’s exciting!!

6 thoughts on “Another Little Love List: Book Edition

  1. Love your selections for 1 and 5, and I have Water for Elephants hangin out on my bookshelf…. I might have to get on it after hearing you rave about it!

    Glad you’re enjoying some gorgeous weather.

    xo

Leave a Reply

